About Us Terms and Conditions Contact Us

Talawattegedara Railway Station Contact Number, Sri Lanka

Name : Talawattegedara Railway Station
Location : Talawattegedara
Distance from Fort : 81.115 KM (130.54 miles)
Phone Number : 011-2421281
Web : [email protected]

Talawattegedara Train Station and Northern Line Overview

OwnerSri Lanka Railways
Line number4
LocaleSri Lanka
TerminiPolgahawela Junction Kankesanthurai
SystemSri Lanka Railways
ServicesYal Devi Express Train, Uttara Devi Intercity Express Train, Rajarata Rejini Express Train, Sri Devi Intercity Express Train
Operator(s)Sri Lanka Railways
Opened14 February 1894
Line length339 km (211 mi)
Track gauge5 ft 6 in (1,676 mm)
Loading gauge1676

What is Northern Line?

The northern line is a railway line in Sri Lanka. Branching off the Main Line at Polgahawela Junction the line heads north through North Western, North Central and Northern provinces before terminating at the northern port of Kankesanthurai. The line is 339 kilometres (211 mi) long and has 55 stations between Polgahawela Junction and Vavuniya. It is the longest railway line in Sri Lanka. The line opened in 1894. Major cities served by the line include Kurunegala, Anuradhapura, Vavuniya and Jaffna. The popular Yal Devi service operates on the line. The line was severely affected by the civil war and no services operated north of Vavuniya after 1990. Reconstruction of this section of the line commenced following the end of the civil war in 2009 and was fully completed in early 2015.


The Jaffna Railway Commission report published in 1891 recommended the construction of a new railway line (now known as the northern line) from Polgahawela to Kurunegala and a survey of a line to Jaffna. The line would join the Main Line at Polgahawela Junction, allowing trains to run to the capital Colombo. Approval was given in 1892 and the new line to Kurunegala opened on 14 February 1894. Approval was given in December 1897 for the construction of the Northern Railway and an announcement was made in the Legislative Council in October 1899 that authorisation had been given for the construction of a railway line connecting the north with Colombo.

Route description

The northern line consists of a main line running from Polgahawela to Kankesanturai and a short branch line to Mihintale. The route serves as a backbone for the country's rail services with other lines branching out from it. The Batticaloa line and the Mannar Line branch off from the northern line at Mahawa (Maho) and Medawachchiya, respectively, to serve Polonnaruwa, Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Mannar, and Talaimannar. The route mainly runs through open country, across the North Central plains. At Elephant Pass, it crosses the lagoon to enter the Jaffna peninsula.

Article by : Lankarailway Webmaster

Last Update On : 01st Thursday April, 2021

© 2010 - 2021 rootv.info